Open Thread: Games

(by chris the cynic)

 

Human beings have created boards, courts, fields, tracks, electronics, programs to run on the electronics, cards, tokens, miniatures, game pieces that are just called “pieces”, dice, a computer made out of tinkertoys that plays tic tac toe, and so forth to play games on, with and whatnot.

Are there any games you’ve been playing recently?  Any that you’d like to play?

[As a reminder, open thread prompts are meant to inspire conversation, not stifle it. Have no fear of going off topic for there is no off topic here.]

9 thoughts on “Open Thread: Games

  1. Shannon July 5, 2016 at 8:57 pm

    On the video game front, my husband and I played Undertale together. Very, very worthwhile. And make sure you play the entire thing – the ending is totally different from anything else I’ve ever played.

    For board games, I’ve enjoyed Betrayal on House on the Hill, Mice and Mystics, and Tokaido quite a bit. Wil Wheaton’s Tabletop show has introduced me to a lot of great games: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mW25Oqn_MiE&list=PL4F80C7D2DC8D9B6C

  2. depizan July 5, 2016 at 11:38 pm

    I mostly play MMOS – Star Wars: the Old Republic, Guild Wars 2, sometimes World of Warcraft or Rift. Mind, I don’t play MMOS right, since I mostly run around by myself in them and flee when people I know from other places on-line appear. I really should work on at least playing them with friends/friends-ish people.

    I love pen and paper RPGs, especially the assorted Star Wars ones (for the world, if not necessarily for the system). Though I’ve mostly played D&D, which is also fun. But gaming groups in real life are hard to come by. And, sadly, online message board versions of RPGs seem to give me the same sort of social anxiety problems that MMOs do. :\

  3. Lonespark42 July 6, 2016 at 2:22 pm

    Still obsessed with Habitica!

  4. Lonespark42 July 6, 2016 at 2:25 pm

    Also Aurion: Legend of the Kari-Odan, tho my progress is ALL THE SLOW…

  5. Lonespark42 July 6, 2016 at 2:30 pm

    Also I recently read The Blood of Titans, and bits of it reminded me of Aurion.

    The other book I just read and highly recommend, Subject 82-42, would make fun video game and/an awesome movie!

    And I think there should be waaay more alt history shooters, some involving time travel, where you get to kill the hell out of genocidal racist shitheads.

  6. Lonespark42 July 6, 2016 at 2:31 pm

    My iPad typing, good it is not…

  7. Firedrake July 6, 2016 at 5:55 pm

    I haven’t played computer games for years, but I do a fair bit of board/card gaming. Shannon, you might also be interested in Shut Up and Sit Down (.com), who produce boardgame review videos (and also, recently, some “how to play” videos) as well as written reviews.

    Recently I seem to have been playing a lot of Mysterium (“Dixit meets Cluedo”), and a surprising amount of old favourite Suburbia.

    And I drive 140 miles once a week to role-play with a really great group. (Mostly GURPS.)

  8. Shannon July 13, 2016 at 10:11 am

    Oooh, Firedrake, Mysterium sounds really interesting. I love both Dixit and Clue. I was part of a RPG group that played 7th Sea (the old version, before it got all “cool” with Kickstarter, ha) but we kind of dwindled out because of busy and conflicting schedules. Froborr was actually part of the group because I met him on Slacktiverse!

  9. christhecynic July 13, 2016 at 7:22 pm

    I want to play Night of the Grand Octopus. Got it for lonespark for Christmas, haven’t had a chance to play it yet.

Leave a Reply

