This week in the Slacktiverse, August 6th, 2016

(posted by chris the cynic; written by members of The Slacktiverse)

The Blogaround

  • chris the cynic wrote:
    • The only fiction fragment this week was a long overdue thing consisting of two scenes.  Ever since I first saw Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind I had an idea in my head involving a scientifically impressive secret underground garden whose creator has to abandon it because she’s being taken as a political hostage post-occupation.  Also something about a sword master.  That’s it, nothing else of the movie’s story or setting.  And this week I finally wrote out those two scenes.
    • Also on a sort-of-story front, after having six word stories mentioned to me I made in the vicinity of forty of them.  Mostly with a sci-fi bent.
    • I wrote something that’s been on my mind for a while: I think I want to make a book.  Not as in write a novel, though I want to do that many times over, as in go through Stealing Commas, collect some of the original (not-derivative) fiction fragments, some of the more essay like things, and such.  Polish it, and publish it in a book that’s just a collection of writings.  So, if you have any thoughts on that, please do stop by and share them.
    • I asked a couple of questions.  The first was due to an observation: when people share upbeat non-“I got a big truck and a hot chick” country songs, I tend to like them.  I have no idea how to find them, though.  It is definitely not as simple as looking for other songs by the same artist.  That never works.  So I asked for guidance in that arena.
    • The other thing was about a zombie related collapse of order.  Not apocalypse.  City-scale collapse.  You’re in a city overrun with zombies, the outside world has quarantined you and abandoned you.  What do you do?  Set up medical facilities to replace the presumably overrun hospitals, try to keep getting people their medications, keep the water and power functioning, make sure you’ve got fire suppression so the city doesn’t burn down around you, and such, obviously.  But what else?  And what of the vital stuff am I missing?

In Case You Missed This

No submissions this week.

Things You Can Do

No submissions this week.

–Co-authored by the Slacktiverse Community

Leave a Reply

