Open Thread: What would you like to talk about?

(by chris the cynic)

Not like we’re out of people, but we do seem to have run dry on the whole conversation front and I wonder if that could be because open thread prompts basically boil down to: Whatever random thing I can think of on a certain day within a given amount of time instead of, you know, asking for feedback on what people are actually interested in discussing.

We have a space set aside for political discussion if anyone wants to talk specifically about that.  Thus far it’s mostly been US politics, which makes sense as it was US political season, and the fact some people needed to escape the resulting news cycles, that led to a space being set aside.

[As a reminder, open thread prompts are meant to inspire conversation, not stifle it. Have no fear of going off topic for there is no off topic here.]

6 thoughts on “Open Thread: What would you like to talk about?

  1. alexeigynaix September 27, 2016 at 11:59 am

    I’m watching My Beautiful Laundrette for my Queer Pop Culture course. I am frankly bored to tears, except when Tania is onscreen. Sadly, I do not expect Tania to get the bold lesbian love she deserves in the twenty minutes of movie I haven’t seen yet. I’m not even sure she’s queer. (This is a queer film because protagonist Omar and love interest Johnny are queer.) She seems queer, though—bi/pan vicinity most likely.

    Next film up is Mosquita y Mari. Which I don’t think I’m finishing before work in two hours, somehow. It should be a little more interesting, if only because it’s femslash.

    The University of Rochester Yellowjackets’ cover of Taylor Swift’s “You Belong with Me” is the thing I’m going to link classmates in discussion 3. Shot-for-shot remake of Swift’s music video, starring two guys.

    Trans!lesbian!Cinderella is going to be my final project for this course, I think. I hope Professor Floyd doesn’t mind getting a novella, because I have 900 words already and I’m only one scene in.

  2. alexeigynaix September 27, 2016 at 12:00 pm

    —oh, oops. Hi, this is alexseanchai, too lazy to switch WordPress accounts.

  3. alexeigynaix September 27, 2016 at 12:14 pm

    Spoilers, Tania did not get a bold lesbian love. She did however get out of London, so I can imagine her bold lesbian love Elsewhere Than London.

  4. Firedrake September 28, 2016 at 11:43 am

    In 1980s Britain, one of the strands of homosexual culture was definitely focused on “two men together are the Most Scary Thing, so that is what we will push to normalise”.

    I don’t know what I want to say. Except Hooten and the Lady is really terrible TV.

  5. genesistrine September 28, 2016 at 2:49 pm

    Oh lord isn’t it just. I gave up at the neatly-bound genuine Sibylline Book and I should’ve done it earlier.

  6. InquisitiveRaven September 30, 2016 at 7:28 pm

    I’ve decided to participate in the Teal Pumpkin Project this year. The idea is to offer toys, glow sticks and other non-food items to trick or treaters so as give them options that won’t set off any allergies they might have. Note that you can offer candy as well, but you don’t have to.

    I haven’t decided if I’m just going to hand out the teal pumpkin stuff or if I’m going to hand out candy as well, but I have to watch my carb intake and if I don’t hand out candy I won’t be tempted by post Halloween leftovers. Besides, I’m not sure I can afford to put out two bowls of stuff.

Leave a Reply

