Open Thread: Pets

(by chris the cynic)

Or livestock.  Goats are good too.  Just, you know, animals with whom you share your life, or would like to.

We have a space set aside for political discussion if anyone wants to talk specifically about that.  Thus far it’s mostly been US politics, which makes sense as it was US political season, and the fact some people needed to escape the resulting news cycles, that led to a space being set aside.

[As a reminder, open thread prompts are meant to inspire conversation, not stifle it. Have no fear of going off topic for there is no off topic here.]

3 thoughts on “Open Thread: Pets

  1. depizan November 8, 2016 at 4:53 pm

    I have two slightly defective cats. (Or they have me.)

    Max was a stray who showed up…twelve years ago?…has it really been that long??? …when I was still living with a friend. Both my roommate and I and the people in the apartment across the way put out cat food for the area strays, most of whom were terrified of people. But Max wasn’t the least bit afraid and would try to follow us into our apartments and sit in our laps if we sat on the steps. It took a couple of weeks at least before he happened to be around at a time when the vet was open and I wasn’t on my way to work. He had an upper respiratory infection and was FIV positive – which led to an awkward conversation in which I was afraid the vet would tell me I should just have him put down and the vet was afraid I wouldn’t want him anymore. But once the vet and I realized we were both on the same page, all went well. And after all this time, he’s still a healthy, happy kitty who’s waiting at the door for me every day when I get home from work.

    That same friend, a few years ago, adopted a stray who promptly had kittens. One of those kittens is now my other cat – Smokey. One of my friends’ other cats really didn’t like her and would stalk her into corners and generally terrorize her. So I took her home to see if she and Max could get along. And they sort of do. They’re not exactly good buddies, and sometimes she does bratty things that annoy him, but they do also play together sometimes. She’s a giant shouty fluffball… who also happens to have food allergies. Which means special expensive vet food. And she also waits by the door for me when I get home from work.

    And that’s how I ended up with two slightly defective, but very charming, cats.

  2. genesistrine November 9, 2016 at 1:37 pm

    I have the world’s most adoring semiferal cat. At so much as a hint of another human coming into the house he’s out of the catflap as if rocket-propelled, but when it’s just me and him he’s usually only a few feet away – if I’m on the sofa he likes to be on the back of the sofa where he can occasionally rest a loving paw on my shoulder; if I’m at the computer he settles 2 feet behind me. He doesn’t do laps; laps are too scary, but he’ll lie by me and warm his feet on my leg when he comes in from the garden.

    I’d like to give a home a couple of older cats as well, but I got in a fair bit of debt due to unemployment this past couple of years and need to get it paid off, plus the front and back doors here are direly in need of replacement and the windows aren’t in much better shape.

    Though knowing cats’ ability to detect a sucker from miles away and home in on them it’s always possible that they’ll find me even if I don’t go looking. The two cats previous to this one were one who was abandoned by a neighbour who moved away, and one who decided the house he lived in then had too many other cats and moved in with me instead….

  3. lonespark42 November 9, 2016 at 5:55 pm

    We’re still trying to have a lizard, but no real progress because money.

Leave a Reply

