Open Thread: That which you are grateful for

(by chris the cynic)

Yeah, I’m just stealing ideas from nearby American holidays at this point.

Anyway, feel free to talk about anything for which you are grateful.

The spelling of that word always messes me up.  It comes from the Latin “gratus” plus the English suffix “-ful” and literally means “full of [pleasing, agreeable, thankful]-ness” which makes sense given the actual meaning.  That said, I feel like if I’m grateful for something I must think it’s great (which has no connection to Latin), and –furthermore– the spelling of “grateful” tends to make me think it should be used for something that’s full of grates.  (“It was as grateful as shop for cheese-working equipment.”)

 

[As a reminder, open thread prompts are meant to inspire conversation, not stifle it. Have no fear of going off topic for there is no off topic here.]

One thought on “Open Thread: That which you are grateful for

  1. christhecynic November 23, 2016 at 10:20 am

    A lot of the things I’m grateful for are things that are also sources of great fear. I have my house (technically my family home as I own nothing), without which I’d definitely be homeless because the expenses on a house, mortgage paid, are way lower than the cost of rent around here. But for more than a year and a half my SSI payment has been too low so I’m always at the edge of not meeting those expenses and I have to rely on things as uncertain as the kindness of strangers to fill the gap, so the ever looming possibility of losing the house is a source of constant stress and fear.

    There’s a lot of stuff like this.

    There’s not much that isn’t brought down that way. At the moment the only thing that comes to mind is my relationship with Lonespark. It can cause as much stress as anything in the difficult times, but it’s not a source of fear, and the good definitely outweighs the stress.

    Also grateful to Lonespark for starting the relationship. It was a lot easier to say, “Yes,” than it would have been to ask. I doubt I would have asked, and I don’t want to imagine what my life would be like without that relationship.

Leave a Reply

