These two weeks in the Slacktiverse, December 10th, 2016

(posted by chris the cynic; written by members of The Slacktiverse)

The Blogaround

  • Storiteller has sighed an incredible amount since the election, as well as cried, held her head in her hands, and stressed about what to do next. She also did a lot of writing leading up to and after the election:
  • chris the cynic wrote:
    • Sorry about not getting a “This Week” post last week.
    • I’ve been in a kind of superhero rut and that’s not necessarily a bad thing.  I’ve always wanted to have at least one shared universe with super people.  So, in that arena:
      • A public history of said universe
      • A new index for relevant stories and such
      • It’s common in fanfic to pair hero and villain.  If one is on a team they don’t run, the team leader often gets the “bad guy” role of trying to break up the one true pair.  Pieces of Truth is my attempt at that kind of story.  (Though not fanfic.)
    • Games that know they are games have a problem: it’s difficult to tell if a given bug is a “bug” that’s there to show the characters it’s a game, or a real live bug.
    • It doesn’t look like it because this is two weeks of stuff, but there was a period when I didn’t post anything, so I made sure people knew that I wasn’t dead yet.
    • It took me a long time to put the pieces together, and when I did I only mentioned it to one person.  Now I’ve finally made it into a post.  Have you ever noticed how buildings made with government funds that fulfil useful purposes are fallout shelters?  There’s a reason for that.  It’s a reason that has nothing to do with nuclear preparedness and everything to do with how Americans are willing to spend money.
    • I wrote about the state of my life.  Since it’s my life, it should probably have trigger warnings or something.  I’ve lost all track of what they would be.

In Case You Missed This

No submissions this week.

Things You Can Do

Storiteller has put together a list specifically for parents on what they can do in response to the election: How Parents Can Help Love Trump Hate. While it is aimed at parents, a lot of the ideas are good for anyone short on time/resources.

–Co-authored by the Slacktiverse Community

Leave a Reply

