Open Thread: Love or lack thereof

(by chris the cynic)

We live in an imperfect world.  Friendship, which is a really important kind of love, is seldom what we mean when we use the word “love”.  Romantic love, which is what we generally mean when we use the term, has some real problems around it.  People who are seeking it or have found it all too often lack support, people who don’t want it are often pressured in its direction.

Yet for all that things surrounding it are bad, love is generally a good thing and today,  day set aside in honor of at least one of the Saints Valentine (there were so many that at least three of them have associations with this day of the year) is, Chaucer tells us, a day that’s totally about love.

Now we could all brush up on our Middle English and study the poem “Parlement of Foules”, or we could just talk about love, lack of love, things surrounding love, and so forth.

[As a reminder, open thread prompts are meant to inspire conversation, not stifle it. Have no fear of going off topic for there is no off topic here.]

2 thoughts on “Open Thread: Love or lack thereof

  1. christhecynic February 14, 2017 at 8:12 am

    Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows did many many things wrong. (See, for example, it’s handling of Irene Adler.) One thing that it did fantastically right was its portrayal of Holmes as completely asexual without assuming that aromantic must necessarily follow from that. You see Holmes in love with two people (Adler and Watson) with a third person (Simza) subject to growing affection.

    It was refreshing to see someone who was so clearly portrayed as asexual romantic.

    I spent most of my life desperately wanting romantic love and convinced I’d be alone forever. Lonespark had to deal with lots of anxiety to ask me out, but I am so grateful she did. I doubt I would have ever had the courage.

  2. depizan77 February 14, 2017 at 12:56 pm

    I was so bummed by the Irene Adler thing in Game of Shadows (which is why I never watched the movie), especially after being very pleasantly surprised by the first Sherlock Holmes movie. Now I’m even more disappointed.

    Seeing any sort of asexual portrayed (and not as a villain) is so horribly rare. And I’m kind of shocked that the filmmakers even know asexual romantics exist.

    I have a friend who’s an asexual romantic who’s married to someone who’s probably demisexual and romantic. It seems to be working out all right.

    I’m happy for them. And for you and Lonespark. People finding the right people (and relationships) for themselves is always a good thing!

    I’m aro ace, myself. But I long for copious amounts of friendship love, and absolutely dread people being interested in me in any other ways. Which makes off line relationships really awkward. Even before you get to my social anxiety problems. (Which also get in the way when it comes to on line relationships sometimes. *sigh*)

Leave a Reply

