Writer Workshop March 15th, 2017

(Posted by chris the cynic)

Those of you who also frequent Ana Mardoll’s Ramblings will find this somewhat familiar.  Here, as there, it was requested that there be a regular post to talk about writing projects (and other artwork-creation). Thus this post exists.

Pencil by Elisa Xyz

What are you working on? How are you feeling about it? What thoughts and/or snippets would you like to share? How does your activism work into your art? What tropes are you hoping to employ and/or avoid? Are there any questions you’d like to ask or frustrations you’d like to vent?  Writing workshop below!

2 thoughts on “Writer Workshop March 15th, 2017

  1. alexeigynaix March 15, 2017 at 10:48 am

    Writing a collection of short-fiction near-future dystopias and crowdfunding to pay for sensitivity readers, editing, and cover art is An Ambition. I am torn between “Alex you know how well your Ambitions have gone in the past” and “[a new factor that I am not discussing on the public internet] is in play now! let’s give it a try!”

    This came up because of the near-future dystopia short story I wrote a couple nights ago. Shoot me an email (alexseanchai at gmail) if you want to read it? 1500 words. I’m really hoping for some social-justicey types to give me concrit. Especially given the quantity of content notes—which I’ve just noticed doesn’t include “queerphobia” and, reviewing the story, that’s accurate in this draft, so I may tweak the story so I have to include “queerphobia” in the content notes before I show it to anybody else.

    appalling labor practices; ableism; transmisogynoir; I don’t know if there’s a specific word for anti-genderqueer/nonbinary transphobia; Islamophobia; racism of several flavors; domestic violence; appalling environmental practices; medical malpractice; suicide; anti-Semitism; assorted flavors of murder, explicitly including extrajudicial execution; do tell me if I missed an important note

  2. christhecynic March 15, 2017 at 7:00 pm

    The only fiction I’ve been able to write of late is bare dialog. No description whatsoever. It sucks. I’ve written two short things in the past month and ten days, and not . . . I don’t even know. It’s not right, it’s not good, and it makes me feel worthless.

Leave a Reply

