Writer Workshop April 5th, 2017

(Posted by chris the cynic)

Those of you who also frequent Ana Mardoll’s Ramblings will find this somewhat familiar.  Here, as there, it was requested that there be a regular post to talk about writing projects (and other artwork-creation). Thus this post exists.

Pencil by Elisa Xyz

What are you working on? How are you feeling about it? What thoughts and/or snippets would you like to share? How does your activism work into your art? What tropes are you hoping to employ and/or avoid? Are there any questions you’d like to ask or frustrations you’d like to vent?  Writing workshop below!

One thought on “Writer Workshop April 5th, 2017

  1. alexeigynaix April 6, 2017 at 2:08 am

    Camp NaNo, which needs a proper title, now stands at 6K words written, of which 4K are proper draft. (The first 2K are the first draft of chapter 1, which needed serious revision before it would let me think about chapter 2. Chapter 1 makes ever so much more sense in draft ii than draft i.)

    …The goal I stated at the outset, and you’ll notice it’s pushing four am on the sixth day of this thirty-day month, was 10K words…

    …okay then. 😀

    It would be nice if someone were to read the 4K words and make encouraging and happy sounds. My usual suspects are pretty silent on the first draft (and the second draft’s only been up an hour), though people (including a few of those who can see the drafts and not just the described following) seem happy enough to comment on my brainstorming and “I know there are trans women in this writing group; would any of you be willing to look over these snippets and tell me if I’ve adequately conveyed the discussed character’s transfemininity and the point-of-view character’s transphobia in a manner that is unlikely to hurt my transfeminine readers?” type posts.

    But I do not want to point at anyone, specifically or otherwise, and say “I want you to read my draft and make encouraging noises, and I will be disappointed if you don’t.” If someone has read the draft (either draft) and has critical things to say about it, I don’t want to hear those yet no matter how constructive / helpful the remarks may turn out to be, so I’m okay with them not commenting at all. And I certainly don’t want to hear “you screwed this up” at this phase! (Exclusion for the places of not-#ownvoices, such as “is this sequence likely to hurt my transfeminine readers”, where I’m making a point of asking so I can fix instead of compounding any screwing up I might be doing.) And, of course, people are busy, and I have a couple beta-reading projects I’m not getting to in a real hurry either. It would be hypocritical of me in—not in the worst way, as that’s probably the seriously-triggery rapey ableist bullshit recently spouted by Pete Singer the famed ethicist, but still in a reasonably bad way—to insist people beta-read my stuff and have consideration for my feelings when I’m not returning the favor!

    But it would still be nice if someone were to read the 4K words and make encouraging and happy sounds.

    My basic premise is, here are four teenage girls. (Two are trans: one AMAB, one AFAB. Three are of color. All four are queer, disabled, and polytheistic—not to mention artistic!) And they’re all, for multiple reasons (see previous, but there’s one key one not mentioned yet), feeling seriously excluded from society at large. And, well, one untrained young mage makes a pretty tempting target for a hungry ghost. Four such together? Why, it’s like a buffet meal! And thus, chapter one. 😀

    Though I should advise you, on the off chance anyone’s intrigued enough by this to email me and ask to see the draft (alexseanchai at gmail), the draft contains several ableist and homophobic slurs, a lot of transphobia, and a little fatphobia, mostly because the protagonist who got first turn as point-of-view character is… Well, she gets a good wallop over the head in chapter one (though she doesn’t quite notice it happening) to the tune of “don’t be a bigot”, but it’s going to take a bit for her to work through her various bigotries. For all of them, really; a couple of the slurs in this chapter don’t come from the point-of-view character, and probably the other two have a few bigotries of their own to deal with.

    And now it’s past four am and I am still wide awake, with a phone call to make sometime during regular business hours before I leave for the two pm appointment. Crap. I suppose I shall take advantage of the wide awake to pin down at least the first few sentences of chapter two, and whose point of view it’s in?

Leave a Reply

