Open Thread: Background Noise

(by chris the cynic)

The sound of rain on a tin roof, the crackle of a fire, the murmur of conversations all flowing together into some unintelligible mass at a food court/cafeteria, wind through the leaves, the tick-tock of a clock’s escapement . . . the world is full of ambient noises.

Are there any you particularly like?  Any you dislike?  Do you ever seek out noise?

[As a reminder, open thread prompts are meant to inspire conversation, not stifle it. Have no fear of going off topic for there is no off topic here.]

3 thoughts on “Open Thread: Background Noise

  1. christhecynic April 25, 2017 at 6:21 pm

    Music often distracts me, but silence isn’t good for me either. mynoise.net has been wonderful for me. (Twilight is playing right now.)

    Water noises are often attractive to me. Rain, surf, waterfalls, streams, rivers.

    Things where you can isolate sounds tend to be bad for me. The murmur of people talking is fine, but if I can make out words then I’ll end up hearing fragments of fifty different conversations and unable to concentrate on my own thoughts.

  2. Eilonwy has an emu (@myemuisemo) April 25, 2017 at 7:17 pm

    Train noises make me happy. I live close enough to the nearest light-rail stop that with windows open, I can hear the tram come and go. I’ve lived next to conventional railroad tracks and can sleep through freight trains rattling and honking in the middle of the night; my mom says it’s because we lived next to train tracks when I was a tiny baby.

    In general, I have a high tolerance for city noises and a vague suspicion of extreme quiet. The quietest I usually enjoy is sitting on my patio at 4 a.m., when there’s still just a bit of tram noise and city noise and dogs and such.

  3. christhecynic April 26, 2017 at 1:15 pm

    I noticed the other day, which may or may not have been two days ago, that trains can trick me into thinking they’re thunder, but I don’t think thunder has ever tricked me into thinking it’s a train.

Leave a Reply

