Writer’s Workshop July 5th, 2017

(Posted by chris the cynic)

[We now have a place specifically for non-writing creative work now, if you’d prefer that.]

Those of you who also frequent Ana Mardoll’s Ramblings will find this somewhat familiar.  Here, as there, it was requested that there be a regular post to talk about writing projects (and other artwork-creation). Thus this post exists.

Pencil by Elisa Xyz

What are you working on? How are you feeling about it? What thoughts and/or snippets would you like to share? How does your activism work into your art? What tropes are you hoping to employ and/or avoid? Are there any questions you’d like to ask or frustrations you’d like to vent?  Writing workshop below!

3 thoughts on “Writer’s Workshop July 5th, 2017

  1. alexeigynaix July 5, 2017 at 11:29 am

    TERESA. TELL ME WHAT YOUR GODDAMN PLOT IS. TELL ME WHAT YOU WANT HERE. You can have fun with math next chapter, okay? This is too good a scene to trash altogether. But it’s not the scene that launches your plot, so it needs to not in chapter α!

    …oh you’ve got to be joking. I just figured it out. Vivian’s looking for religion. Morgan’s looking for kēlēma (read: the natural resource that makes magic go). Teresa is looking for the source of the ocean of miasma she’s in!

    \o/ onwards

  2. Apoidea Theorem (Bisatser) July 8, 2017 at 3:57 am

    I’m writing slashfic. Which isn’t new for me; LotR fanfic was the first thing I wrote (around age 11, and it’s probably best forgotten), and fanfic/slashfic is pretty much the only thing I’ve ever managed to get to the point where I’ve been willing to show it to someone else

    Also, I’ve never been good at writing sustainably; I’ve done well enough on drabbles and very short stories, but never managed to finish anything that’s been longer than around 3500 words. I lose track, or energy, or something, and I never get around to finishing them.

    And then I fell off my horse and fractured my hip bone, and was laid up and on morphine, and read all of my favourite writer’s works that I hadn’t yet read because of them not being in my own fandoms, and completely got stuck into a new fandom, and wrote a follow-up crossover with Discworld just because it was insane and I was perhaps not very sensible at the time so I couldn’t argue myself out of the weird idea the way I usually do, and posted it before I got my mental brakes back online.

    And people liked it.

    And now I’m embarked on a follow-up, that will actually *be* long, and I’m posting it chapter by chapter and intend to post at least one chapter per week. So I haven’t actually lost speed yet, despite having more than 8k words written, of which 5k have been posted. I am having all sorts of fun, figuring out how people fit together in the two worlds, and how the overarching plot that I have in my head will actually work with the people I’m writing about – how they will react, how their actions and reactions will affect others and the world around them. It’s as if the little voice in my head, the one that has always told me that what I’ve written is really not good enough to keep working on, has gone quiet for a change.

    I hope it lasts. I really want to make this a good story.

  3. depizan77 July 10, 2017 at 8:20 pm

    I seem to have writers block again. Still. Both.

    I think part of the problem is figuring out how to go back to light adventure after a story that was…not so light. *sigh*

Leave a Reply

