Creative Corner, August 2017

(by chris the cynic)

[Meta note: If my mind had been clearer and I’d remembered things better, I would have had this be yesterday’s open thread instead of one with the extremely lackluster prompt I actually used.  I’ll set up Writer’s Workshop for noon today.]

This is a place to share about any and all creative endeavors.  Could be what you’re working on, what you want to work on, what you’re frustrated about being blocked on, plans, random thoughts, finger painting, building a new world order, whatever.

[As a reminder, open thread prompts are meant to inspire conversation, not stifle it. Have no fear of going off topic for there is no off topic here.]

One thought on “Creative Corner, August 2017

  1. christhecynic August 2, 2017 at 6:44 am

    This has been the year from Hell. One full calendar year come August 20th. As such, it’s probably unsurprising that that I’m not getting much of anything accomplished. I really do wish I were though.

    I have projects I really would like to work on. I have the materials for fabrication using silicone molds and two part polyurthane just sitting in boxes in my kitchen doing nothing.

    I’ve made no progress on wings in spite of the one degree of freedom design being ridiculously easy and multiply applicable (the three evolutions of vertebrate wings are all based on arms, as are most fictional bony wings.)

    I still have no idea what I want to do for feathers*. Yes, some sort of thin fabric with lighter lines (inherent or created) is probably the best way to go, but some part of me doesn’t want to give up on individual filaments in spite of the fact that any structure of individual filaments that managed to maintain a feather shape would likely look and feel less like a real feather than feather shaped fabric.

    I was hoping to make screen-accurate Doctor Who sonics, but I’ve done none of the necessary design work so I’m no closer than someone who never had that ambition.

    There are various computer programming things I want to do, I haven’t written a single line of code.

    So on, so forth.

    I’ve been jammed in park for ages. I couldn’t even be said to be spinning my wheels.

    * Pterodactyl wings are easiest and bat wings not far behind because they just need a membrane, probably some fabric or other, that is wing shaped at full extension. Bird wings are complicated because they aren’t just made out of bone and skin. Feathers are absurdly complex; a wing full of different types of feathers doing different things? More so.

    Also, apparently we don’t know where feathers even come from. They’re no longer believed to be extremely modified scales, which I didn’t know until today.

Leave a Reply

