Open Thread: Halloween

(by chris the cynic)

By the Gregorian Calendar, tomorrow is Hallowmas, or All Hallows’ Day, or any of a few other days.  Since that’s tomorrow, today is All Hallows’ Eve.  Therefore: candy.  Candy and costumes and stuff.

This also coincides with the Day of the Dead, which is not a coincidence.  The Day of the Dead was moved so it would take place at the same time.

I’m told that by Celtic reckoning this is the end of fall, and thus the eve of winter.  That means that from sundown today to sundown tomorrow is Samhain.

We haven’t had an open thread in ages.  Speak of what you will.

 

[As a reminder, open thread prompts are meant to inspire conversation, not stifle it. Have no fear of going off topic for there is no off topic here.]

2 thoughts on “Open Thread: Halloween

  1. christhecynic October 31, 2017 at 9:48 am

    I won’t be partaking in Halloween. Beyond not having candy prepared, my sister has reminded me that my porch is still broken. Not a safe place to draw unsuspecting small children to.

    I really need to get back to writing Life After. By this time two years ago I’d written the first (so rough as to be quite bad) versions of the chapters covering Halloween. Early last year I revised them into their final forms. Now, two years after the fact, I still haven’t written the next chapter.

    I have three chapters of all saints day to get through, three chapters of all souls day, and then the first movement is done and the pace picks up. (The next movement will cover a month in the same number of chapters.)

    I just need to write the damned thing. It is proving difficult.

  2. depizan77 October 31, 2017 at 2:32 pm

    I always get a bag of candy, just in case, but I live in an apartment building, and have never actually gotten trick-or-treaters. There’s some small chance this year since there’s at least one kid living in the building this time, but there are a lot of local thingies (from the actually fun to the headdesky “trunker treat” deals), so I’m not getting my hopes up.

    Also, I’m home sick, sadly (missing fun at work, dang it), so I may turn in too early anyway.

    *sigh*

Leave a Reply

