Creative Corner, November 2017

(by chris the cynic)

This is a place to share about any and all creative endeavors.  Could be what you’re working on, what you want to work on, what you’re frustrated about being blocked on, plans, random thoughts, finger painting, building a new world order, whatever.

It was created because, even though Writers’ Workshop is intended to be a place where any creative endeavor can be discussed, the name scared off people who weren’t writers.  (Which totally makes sense.)

7 thoughts on “Creative Corner, November 2017

  1. christhecynic November 7, 2017 at 7:03 am

    I’ve been planning it for ages. I think I finally got new supplies at about the same time I broke my foot, so that put it on hold. But the hold is long since over.

    I want to get back to building things. I’m going to need to learn a new 3-d modeling software at some point so I can 3-d print masters, but there are other things that I could do right away if I could just muster the drive/motivation/whatever to initiate the process.

    Once upon a time this:

    was what I did. That’s entirely 3-d printed which makes it expensive. Apparently the price has gone up to 300 now.

    There’s a reason no one ever bought them. But the thing is, 3-d printing isn’t the best way to make custom puzzles. You 3-d print masters, make molds of them (by hand) then cast them (again, by hand.)

    I want to do that.

    I want to make puzzles again. I want to make props. Sonic screwdrivers, elements of harmony, the dragon scepter, lightsabers (?), a gorg superchip . . . I want to be a creator of stuff you can poke again.

  2. Ana Mardoll (@AnaMardoll) November 7, 2017 at 2:31 pm

    Chris, that is beautiful and amazing. Wow.

    What I’m working on: My book of transgender prophecy stories is with the editor so there’s nothing I can do on that front right now. I’m trying to dive back into my Earthside #3 project, but I’m being mentally stymied by November.

    I hate November. I hate NaNoWriMo. I hate the feeling that I’m “supposed” to be writing 1,600 words a day (or whatever the number is) and knowing constantly that I’m not. It’s such a silly hangup of mine–no one is making me participate, I know, and it’s all in my head. But my head is a very nagging place to be sometimes, lolsob.

    *hugs* to anyone who wants them.

  3. Aibird November 7, 2017 at 11:10 pm

    I keep forgetting about the Creative Corners here! My fractal art: https://geckobird.deviantart.com/gallery/44896048/Fractal-Art

    I did two different versions of a fractal today — rendered them while I was working at my day job. I haven’t posted them to deviantart or any art site yet, but these new ones should be going up soon. I made them while thinking about Halloween so they’re a bit on the creepy side. Most of my fractal art is very bright and colorful, so I was experimenting with black and white colorations and how that affected fractals.

  4. depizan77 November 8, 2017 at 12:09 am

    @chris,

    The library district I work in has a 3D printer (or possibly two now…), and while there’s a cost for the printing stuff, I don’t think it’s horribly high. I don’t know if your local library district has a 3D printer, but it might be worth looking into for your masters.

  5. christhecynic November 8, 2017 at 7:01 am

    @depizan

    I am so out of date on 3d printing knowledge. When I was active it had just become a thing and the advent of Shapeways was a positive dream. Small town (technically city, but there are towns with higher populations) so I doubt it, but I should look into it.

    @Aibird:

    I love fractals.

  6. christhecynic November 8, 2017 at 7:07 am

    Oh, also @Aibird

    Writer Workshop is weekly out of habit and inertia. Given the lack of activity, when Creative Corner was added it seemed better to make it monthly (though every Writer Workshop links to the most recent one, so it doesn’t get buried) In theory it’s the first Tuesday of every month. In practice . . . schedules and I don’t get along.

    If they ever start getting too crowded (not holding out hope) we’ll go to two per month, in the unlikely but wonderful event that even that isn’t enough, they’ll become weekly.

  7. Firedrake November 8, 2017 at 9:02 am

    Chris: you might also look at 3dhubs.com – which is a place for people with printers to offer their services to people with models. (Disclaimer: I offer my 3d printing services there.) Shapeways is just about the most expensive option these days.

    Aibird: lovely, thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

