Writer Workshop November 8th, 2017

(Posted by chris the cynic)

Those of you who also frequent Ana Mardoll’s Ramblings will find this somewhat familiar.  Here, as there, it was requested that there be a regular post to talk about writing projects (and other artwork-creation). Thus this post exists.

Anyone who would feel more comfortable talking about non-writing creative work in a thread that doesn’t have “Writer” in the name, you may find this month’s creative corner thread useful.

Pencil by Elisa Xyz

What are you working on? How are you feeling about it? What thoughts and/or snippets would you like to share? How does your activism work into your art? What tropes are you hoping to employ and/or avoid? Are there any questions you’d like to ask or frustrations you’d like to vent?  Writing workshop below!

6 thoughts on “Writer Workshop November 8th, 2017

  1. christhecynic November 8, 2017 at 6:57 am

    I have so many Kim Possible stories, and I really want to get back to them (sooner rather than later) but I’ve lost my feel for the canon characters. I can’t write them if I don’t know the answers to questions like “What would she think?” “How would he react?” “What would ne say?” “What would they do?” and so forth.

    Anyone have advice on how to get back in touch with characters you’ve lost your sense of?

    Brute force is marathon re-watch of the whole series, but that’s 87 episodes over four seasons. A shortcut would be great.

  2. Ana Mardoll (@AnaMardoll) November 8, 2017 at 10:04 am

    I accidentally posted this in Creative Corner yesterday (I forgot Writing Workshop is a different thread!) so:

    What I’m working on: My book of transgender prophecy stories is with the editor so there’s nothing I can do on that front right now. I’m trying to dive back into my Earthside #3 project, but I’m being mentally stymied by November.

    I hate November. I hate NaNoWriMo. I hate the feeling that I’m “supposed” to be writing 1,600 words a day (or whatever the number is) and knowing constantly that I’m not. It’s such a silly hangup of mine–no one is making me participate, I know, and it’s all in my head. But my head is a very nagging place to be sometimes, lolsob.

    *hugs* to anyone who wants them.

    Chris, one thing that helps me is to focus on 1 or 2 episodes that I feel represent a “core” part of that character. Like, I wouldn’t want to rewatch all of Firefly to write a fic about Jayne; I’d want to look at the one with the statue. My Zoe core episode would be the one where she picks Wash over Mal. My Inara core episode might be the one where they first encounter Saffron, tbh–or the one with the brothel. An episode that I feel deals with them in an intimate way, rather than spread over the entire series.

  3. christhecynic November 8, 2017 at 11:18 am

    @anamardoll
    I forgot Writing Workshop is a different thread!

    I wasn’t going to say anything.

    Re: your advice

    I’ve been thinking along the lines actually. I just need to figure out what those episodes are. I do not envy MLP fans who face the same problem. They’ve got 169 episodes and counting, plus the movie, to pick from. Sometimes too many options is a bad thing because: daunting.

    [In the rest of this I talk to myself.]

    Ron is easy: Sink or Swim. Kim is harder. Wade I’m lost on (supporting characters are just . . . sprinkled through everything and don’t get good encapsulating episodes.) Bonnie . . . not straightforward. She gets the most treatment in Bonding but it’s while things are weird enough to be . . . actually probably go with that, actually.

    Shego is really hard, she’s just . . . spread out. Also, with some exceptions, pretty consistently handled.

    This has helped.

  4. Ana Mardoll (@AnaMardoll) November 8, 2017 at 4:45 pm

    I’m glad it helped! Shows are HARD because they aren’t always consistent. Voyager, for instance.

  5. christhecynic November 8, 2017 at 5:20 pm

    Yeah someone elsewhere was all, “Just watch the whole thing!” and it’s like, “No, I want to remember how to do the characters well. Reacquainting myself with the shit isn’t going to help.”

    Plus my eyes would glaze over and my brain would shut down if I did a marathon viewing of four seasons of TV.

    Small to moderate doses.

    Of course shows also have the problem that what for you is the crap out of character portrayal is for someone else revealing the core of the character.

  6. anamardoll November 9, 2017 at 10:25 am

    *nods* That is very true! And it’s one reason why I waffled over Inara’s “core” episode because for a lot of people it might be Shindig but I hate Shindig with the fire of a thousand suns.

    To a certain extent, her “core” episode would depend on what I wanted to fic about (obviously if I wanted to fic about her and a lady client, I’d need to watch the lady client episode), but just in general I like the brothel episode because she talks about her training (and how it differs from what the brothel workers do) and I like the Saffron episode because it shows her figuring out a con-woman using her brain-tools. Those are important parts of Inara for me.

    But such assessments are naturally subjective.

Leave a Reply

